The Suicide Machines

Detroit’s reigning kings of ska/punk The Suicide Machines are back in 2022 with ‘GEBO GOMI’; a new split LP with Tokyo Japan's Coquettish, out July 22 on Bad Time Records. While 2020s “Revolution Spring” proved that the band still had a fire lit in them, The Suicide Machines display on this new split that they are not only at the top of their game, but possibly making the catchiest, heaviest, and most relevant songs of their career. “Awake” is a TSM instant classic that would fit equally well on “Destruction by Definition” as it would in an old school Tony Hawk game, while tracks like “Accelerate the Decline” and “Slipping Into Darkness” show that the band hasn’t lost an ounce of the edge and anger they carry about the crumbling state of the world. These tracks are prescient, political, and pissed off, but also evoke the reckless joy that’s been a hallmark of the band’s catalogue. Mixed by Jon Graber (NOFX, Goldfinger, We Are The Union), the band sounds poised and in control while not over-polished to maintain the grit and raw power that they bring to these new songs.